Buying Advice Buying the right tractor for 1.5 acres

/ Buying the right tractor for 1.5 acres #1  

Matt95684

Tractor
None
Hello everyone! I'm new to tbn although I've been on here reading a lot of threads. My wife and I are looking pretty strongly at a home on 1.5 acres with a white rock lane of probably 75 feet. I'm wondering what tractor and implements everyone recommends for mowing and snow removal.

After reading some discussions on this site I have come to the conclusion that you want to buy the most tractor you can because you will find more uses for it than you think, I have also read the same thing about front end loaders (fel).

So far here's what I'm considering...
I want something I will be able to use year round so maybe a fel instead of a snowblower because the blower will sit in the garage most of the time.

I would like 4wd for moving snow as well as possible tilling a garden someday, but not sure if it is necessary, the property in question does NOT have a lot of hills.

From what I have read diesel is the way to go for longevity (which is big for me) I don't care so much about resale because my plan is to get something I can keep for years to come.

Lastly I'm trying to figure out kubota or john Deere. My understanding is that it comes down to preference and dealers. I haven't contacted john Deere dealer yet because they are generally more expensive. I have multiple dealers for each brand in my area.

Sorry for the long post just want to give as much info as possible here are the questions I have...

1. What size of tractor do I need/want?
2. Is the fel a better tool than the snow blower?
3. With proper maintenance how many hours can I expect from jd vs kubota and which is the better value?
4. Are used models worth looking at?

Any input would be appreciated

/ Buying the right tractor for 1.5 acres #2  
Welcome to TBN. Join the fun:D