Buying Advice I just signed the paper on a house with 14+ acres, need advice

/ I just signed the paper on a house with 14+ acres, need advice #1  

vanguard

Bronze Member
Tractor
2014 Kioti DK45SE
I've never driven a tractor before but in a few weeks I'm going to close on my dream house. It has 14+ acres of grass and very few trees aside from the 26 that line a long front driveway.

I've never had a yard like this but part of my motivation in buying the house is to get outside. That means that a small hobby farm, maybe horses, etc. could be in my future. Also, I'm a pretty avid woodworker so there is always lumber and machinery to move around. But by far the most use the tractor will get is mowing the yard.

I've been *all* over the place on what I should get and where I should put my budget. I'm thinking I may need a tractor and a ztr mower combo. Is a yard like this big enough to warrant a mower like this? Caroni Estate Mower-TC 910NRSD Estate Mower | Agri Supply #29234 (93" finish mower)

I've also considered the flail mower that's so popular around here. Flail Mower, Caroni, Rear Flail Mower | Agri Supply, 30837, TM1900 That would let me keep some areas longer and I decide to mow them once a month.

I started thinking that maybe an old Massey 175 would be nice. Something like this would be cheap and it would pull anything I'd ever buy: MASSEY FERGUSON 175 TRACTOR

However, *everybody* that buys a FEL seems to wonder how they ever lived without it. Something like this would cost a lot more and pull a lot less but it's modern and it has a FEL: JOHN DEERE 4600 HST DIESEL TRACTOR WITH LOADER

I need some guidance. (FWIW, I live in North Carolina so snow is only a minimal concern)

/ I just signed the paper on a house with 14+ acres, need advice #2