Tractor Sizing Tractor size advice needed

/ Tractor size advice needed #1  

jb15426

Tractor
None yet
I'm new to tractors so I need some good advice on tractor size. I need a tractor for digging post holes, brush hog for mowing & clearing, lifting or moving round bales, rototiller for garden, and plow snow. Thanks in advance.

JohnB

/ Tractor size advice needed #2  
30hp is a good all around size.

/ Tractor size advice needed #3  
Depends on the size and weight of the round bales. Heavier tractor is probably safer for round bales. HP and weight do not always go together.

/ Tractor size advice needed #4  
Welcome, John. Essentially all of the modern 4x4 compact tractors will happily do your most of your work, but there's a tradeoff involving how much time you want to spend mowing, clearing snow, etc., that you need to figure out. If you only have 2 or 3 acres, even the smaller machines should have you well covered. More acres means more and larger chores, of course, so your equipment budget will need to increase.

Moving your round bales is one chore you mention that complicates your decision. You'll need a tractor large and heavy enough to handle the job safely, and how much tractor you need will depend on whether you're just moving the bales about using a rear 3 point attachment or, alternately, you'll need to use a tractor mounted front-end loader (FEL) to lift the bales to/from stacks, trailers, etc. Round bales come in different sizes, generally from 600 lbs to 1500 lbs. It takes a serious tractor to safely lift and stack a 1500 lb bale with the FEL.

When evaluating tractors, you can't just go by horsepower alone; you have to consider the dimensions and weight of the tractor also to assess its capability.

You'll probably get more specific comments if you can provide more details about your plans.

/ Tractor size advice needed