Tractor or Skid Steer?

/ Tractor or Skid Steer? #1  

puter

Tractor
JD 450C Trackloader w/ backhoe
I've been looking and planning on getting a tractor for awhile now for a myriad of projects around a pretty wooded property... driveway/trail maintenance, drainage and electric lines, outbuilding foundations, old stump removal, general landscaping stuff, etc.

I have little experience with either tractors or skid steers and would appreciate some input as to how to decide which piece of equipment would be more appropriate. I don't anticipate doing any mowing with this equipment.

I'd like to be able to respond to the "job of the day" and reasonably easily switch between pallet forks, a dozer blade, bucket, small backhoe, etc. Given that, do CUTs offer any advantages over a skid steer? Thanks!

/ Tractor or Skid Steer? #2  
Welcome, Puter, To get the best informed answer to that question a description of your land would help, hilly, size, soil, rocks, and more detail of the jobs you intend to do. What do you want to do with the dozer blade build a pond push trees (size) or make a road etc etc...? Do you need it for snow blowing/pushing?
On the way to my tractor last week I saw a skid steer doing some landscaping on the side of the highway. He was carrying a pallet of grass (Texas) up a small incline. it had rained about a 1/2 inch the night before and the little skid steer was just spinning it's tires going nowhere. I thought to myself he needs a tractor with quick attach front forks or he is going to waste an entire day just spinning his wheels. I would have to say get a tractor.

/ Tractor or Skid Steer? #3  
Skid steer.

Attachments.
Manuverability.
Accesability.
Cost.

All factors that make you want a skid steer. Out of two kubota l35's and a new holland ls170 i prefer the ls170 for grading and picking up stuff. My landscapers are using two bobcats for my job too. They have no trouble lifting the sod off a semi-truck and moving it around.