Buying Advice Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore?

/ Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #1  

campbellrw

Tractor
none
Hi all, I'm just getting started in my own farming venture and recently while looking at new and used equipment I noticed that I don't think I saw any large tractors that were relatively new that were 2wd. Are large 2wd tractors not as cost effective anymore or something? I see older tractors like the JD 4650 or similar sized tractors of other brands that I figured would be great for running discbines, or round baling or whatever else. Did peoples interested in the big 2wd tractors just diminish, or is it possible that a MFWD tractor just opens up more options for the amount of tasks it can perform?

/ Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #2  
Could be folks rather have 4WD really doesn't cost that much more,plus you can do more w/them...better traction,safer etc. etc.

/ Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #3  
I have two 150 hp tractors, a two wheel drive and a mfd drive. Only do field work with them but the mfd is much more productive. Price for mfd tractor was quit a bit higher.

/ Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #4  
If I was buying a new tractor (which aint gonna happen anytime soon) I would seriously consider a 2WD, but then it would mostly be for brush hogging/mowing and road grading.

The operator's manual for my old Mitsubishi says that the 4WD version has 50% greater drawbar pull than the 2WD, for what that's worth.

/ Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #5  
Heavy 2-WD uses a lot more fuel than a lighter 4-WD doing the same work with 4-WD engaged.

Last edited:
   / Does no one buy big 2wd tractors new anymore? #6