Big job, total newbies, least # of pieces of equipment to get the job done :)?

/ Big job, total newbies, least # of pieces of equipment to get the job done :)? #1  

s2dm

Tractor
Toolcat 5600, Deere 210, Cat 320, Kubota KX080, Kubota KX040, CAT CP433 Compactor, Bobtail dump, cushman truckster
Hey There,

First post. And I'm a retired Doc with zero Ag experience, so, take it easy on me :)

We just bought a small avocado orchard just south of Santa Barbara on the coast. Zero maintenance for the last ten years, and about half the land had been leased to a commercial nursery. Grade is slight, maybe 5%. Nursery just moved off and we are left with land with a serious hardpan thats been driven on for decades, and land that is bare. We are also right at the foot of canyon that collects water during the rains and shuttles it right onto us. With the predicted el nino, Heather and I are waking up at night imagining all of top soil in our neighbors yards or worse.

So, lots to do in the next couple months and trying to figure out how to do it. The big need is doing atleast a small rip and getting a cover crop in. The next need is cutting some berms and swails around the property to redirect water away from troublesome areas and to slow it and spread it. And then after that, we will have the normal small farm needs. We also have some big boy rocks in the soil, and some trenching to do at some point, so a backhoe or excavator could occasionally be a need.

We demoed a kubota L4701 and it seemed fine for the smaller jobs, but It had a hard time scratching through the hardpan and I felt like it would take forever to any appreciable dirt moving. Seemed like a great tool for day to day on the farm, but not for the first couple years of earthmoving, grading, ripping and planting we have coming.