looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?

/ looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations? #1  

disney

Gold Member
Tractor
scag turf tiger 61" #2, gx95, sold f525 twice, f725 sold
Let me start with Happy Turkey day (unless you are unfortunate enough to be that highly desired bird)! I guess you could say I am looking for the best value in a smaller stihl saw. I already have a #19 in tree w/12" and a #390 w/25" but as my cheap ground saw basically died, am looking to complete the 'fleet' with a new stihl for ground use once the 'big&/or high' stuff is done. I do not mind paying more for a better saw, but I need to know what makes it worth the additional $. Is it easier to service, does it have a better clutch, less likely to leak bar oil, vibrate less, etc. ?? I am not a professional, nor do I cut for firewood, but I maintain several properties, and most have mature oaks. So use would be the occasional trim, but likely just storm damage. I would however expect this to saw to not require much maint. beyond plugs, filters, bar lube, and chains/chain adjustment. So If anyone has any advice (especially if it is this model costs more, but is not really any better) I would love to hear it. thanks, again.

/ looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations? #2  
Re: looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?

I have 4 stihl saws, they have been good, however, I have had to repair a couple along the way. Mostly due to the gas sitting, the tube goes bad and sucks air. carb clean out, etc. but no major issues. The small one I had(a 190 I think)finally wore out and lost compression after about 8 years. I did get my money's worth out of that one.

/ looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations? #3  
Re: looking to buy a stihl saw 14-16" 10% off at dealer tomorrow, recommendations?