Buying Advice A tractor for 35 wooded acres

/ A tractor for 35 wooded acres #1  

ripHST

Silver Member
Tractor
TYM T474
Hi all,

A couple of things to start: first is to acknowledge those that welcomed me when I posted my "new to the forum" message a few weeks back. They gave me some great things to think about as I started researching my first tractor purchase...second is a general observation about the forum, I'm new to tractors in my adult life but not new to forums and I've got to say that I'm really impressed by the folks here. I'm a motorcycle enthusiast and am a member of many motorcycle forums and while most of the folks there are great and are very knowledgeable, you always get some trolls and generally ill tempered folks just waiting to cause trouble. I've seen none of that here. Just very nice folks imparting their knowledge while be respectful of differing opinions. I'm not blowing smoke...it's really very different here...at least so far. ;)

My needs have changed slightly since that first post. I had my eye on 11ish acres at the time and didn't end up getting that. Since then I found another lot and am under contract on that (closing in May) so it should be where I end up. It's 35 wooded acres, but with (4) connected ponds through the middle of it totaling about 6 acres I'd judge. It's mostly hardwood, but with a few small groves of pines here and there. One challenge I see now is the water basically splits the land in two and it may end up being difficult to get a tractor into the back half during the spring when it's most wet. We'll see, but I'm not too worried about that. My plan is to build on this land next year and use the next 12 months or so to finish a remodel on my current house and do as much site prep on the land as I can before I build the new house.