sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #1  

wango tango

Silver Member
it's down to a new mahindra 2565 or a used 1900 hour 2001 john deere 5420. both have loaders, R1's, shuttle and cab.

driving myself (and wife) crazy...anyone relate? :)

on one hand the JD wont depreciate much, if any. it is a bigger tractor. price is at 30k. has new tires, 2 rear remotes, ride control. it was used by a college to mow/snow.

on the other hand, the mahindra is brand new (which i rarely buy new expensive depreciating assets) at 35900. buying a new tractor always seemed counter-intuitive for me as i'm a hobby farmer/weekend warrior.

help me out guys....what to do?

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #2  
The problem with a shared machine like the JD is you have no idea if they took care of it. Ask for maintenance records for sure.

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend
I've asked to see them. It was owned by a community college so I'm guessing it was.

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #4  
Do you feel comfortable in checking out a used tractor? Are you able to fix the JD if it breaks? Having a warranty to fix any issues with a new tractor is nice.

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #5  
Personally, I'd get the John Deere, good machine and it will sure hold its value.

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #6  
What do you plan on doing with it?

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend
I am mechanically inclined. Not an issue there. I'm going to food plot, mow, fence removal. Some minor road work. Logging property soon.

/ sanity check asap - buying a tractor this weekend #8