Help me pick a skid steer

Status
Not open for further replies.
   / Help me pick a skid steer #1  

zmoz

Silver Member
Tractor
-
I'm buying 6 acres of totally undeveloped property...and I've budgeted about $15-20k for a used skid steer to help me tame the land. I need to clear a driveway and a home site, as well as put in a bunch of trenches for utilities and remove a bunch of stumps. And a whole lot of brush clearing.

I've never used a skid steer before but it seems like the most versatile piece of equipment for what I want to do. Seems like there is an attachment for almost everything. The question is what machine do I want? Is there much difference between the brands besides color and preference? What features should I be looking for, and how much power do I really need? Do you think $15-20k is enough to spend to buy one that isn't worn out and unreliable? I'm looking for a wheeled unit, not interested in the extra cost and maintenance for tracks, although I might buy the steel tracks that go over the tires.

How many hours is too many? I've seen a few at the higher end of my budget with only 600-700 hours. And others with more than 4000 hours.

Does it matter much which engine they have? Is there one to avoid? I'd rather not have one with an air cooled engine, other than that it seems like mostly Kubota vs Cummins vs John Deere.

/ Help me pick a skid steer #2  
As much as I like owning things with diesel engines, I force myself to look at renting specific equipment to clear property or move dirt or whatever - the big jobs. Once that is out of the way you can buy something that fits your budget perfectly.

/ Help me pick a skid steer #3