Two Questions

/ Two Questions #1  

IrTxRx

Silver Member
Tractor
Power Trac 1430
I am just beginning the search for a new tractor. Visited my first dealer on Friday. I have no preference for color yet (Let's see, represented on TBN there is green, blue, orange, orange, red,red,red???) and believe that for my planned uses and acreage i will need a 35-40HP tractor.

Question #1 In most brands, it seems that there is a difference in frame size between the approx 35 and approx 40 HP variety. Would you rather have the highest HP in a smaller frame tractor or the lowest Hp in a larger frame.

Question #2 A couple of days ago there was a thread titled "weight distribution" which discussed that maybe CUT's were not designed for what MOSTof us used them for the MOST(e.g. FEL work with back tires lifting off the ground). Should I be considering a Bobcat style mahcine with loader and brushcat attatchment instead of a CUT for the mowing, dirt moving, brush handleing and road maintnenance I will be doing in the near future?

BTW, I have been very impressed with the thoughtfullness of members replies, forgiving nature towards all of us newbies and good natured /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif "crow-eating" when necessary.

Thanks in advance

/ Two Questions #2  
Road grading with a skid steer would be kinda tough . The longer wheel base CUT will provide a better job . I have the DK45TLB Kioti which is a little more for heavy duty use . They also make a DK35 that is very nice . I was going with a DK35 but after talking with some of the old boys on here, decided on a DK45 . I have 46 Acres . Sounds like you are planning to do what I do with mine .
There are lots of good brands out there to look at depending on what you want to do . Transmission choices too ! I think I would stay away from the gray market brands if you don't have lots of Mechanic experience . A good support dealer is a must . Something will break eventually and you will need a replacement part .