1989 John Deere 855

/ 1989 John Deere 855 #1  

flyer

Tractor
1989 John Deere 855
Hi. This is my very first post, as I am just getting into a large plot of land and this will be my first tractor purchase. So, forgive my ignorance if it shows. I hope to improve my knowledge as time goes, hopefully with some of your help!

In any event, I have an opportunity on a 1989 JD 855, and was wondering if I could get some feedback on appropriate price. Here are the details I know so far (unfortunately I do not know how many hours it has yet):

'89 855, 4WD posi traction
deck mower
backhoe
front loader
chains (we're in snow country)
all manuals/paperwork

I should become privy to the rest of the specs when I take a look at it in a few days, but thought I would get as educated as I could in the meantime.

Thanks for the help!

/ 1989 John Deere 855 #2  
The 855 is a nice tractor. A friend of mine owned one for 10 years. It was quite dependable.

Since the seller has the manuals and paperwork (I'm assuming the original Deere manuals), that, to me, is a big plus!

Anyway, figure a price of 10 to 15 thousand bucks. The x55 series machines seem to really hold their value (example: when my friend traded his 950 hour 855 in on a 4310, he got $12500 in trade. The dealer asked for $13500 when selling the tractor. I don't know the actual selling price, but it went pretty fast).

Personally, I think the older Deere CUT's are more robust then the 4xxx series machines. They're more basic machines but it depends on how many bells and whistles you think you need.

If that's a 3PH backhoe, I would make sure the original 3PH arms, links, etc. are part of the deal. I'd also get the seller to drop the 'hoe off so the attaching points can be inspected.

The only thing I don't care for on the x55 series is the headlamp placement. If a loader is installed, the masts block the head lamps.

Good luck on the purchase!

/ 1989 John Deere 855 #3