"sub compact" tractors?

/ "sub compact" tractors? #1  

reconmarine

\"sub compact\" tractors?

Excuse the intrusion but I had been looking for a compact tractor but after seeing the costs, I had to scale down my goals.

I am an admitted newbie to the whole tractor world ("lawn" "garden" "subcompact" "compact" ???) having cut my yard with a 21" walk behind Honda (the same one!) for 20 years. Now I am older, slower and have left the suburbs for a 30 ac farm in north GA with a 3 acre Bermuda lawn to handle as well as some light chores (hauling mulch, pushing gravel on my 1/2 mile driveway etc. I also have some hills and some "soft" areas in my river bottom areas so 4WD would be a plus.

I am bewildered by the various and obviously opinionated posts on these machines posts on the various makes and models out there. It reminded me of the old debate among us Marine grunts between the relative merits of the M-14 and M-16, either of which will kill very effectively!

Anyway, I am facing a fast greening 3 acre lawn and must get something soon. I have Kubota, Husky, Toro, JD, NH, MF, Cub and Simplicity dealers nearby and Atlanta has everything if I am willing to take my life in my hands to go there. Can you help me make some sense of all this in terms of what I need whether it is called a "lawn" "compact" or "subcompact" tractor?

I am a retired Marine on fixed income so cost is a factor but on the otherhand I am a mechanic "fanatic" and appreciate good workmanship and durability and am willing to eat beans if needed to get the "right" (as much quality and capability as I can afford as long as it also does the main task of mowing well) machine.

Many many thanks.

Semper Fi

PS-- We should all keep in our hearts and prayers those fine young men and women in foreign places keeping the wolves away from our door so we are free to worry about such things as lawn tractors.

/ "sub compact" tractors? #2  
Re: \"sub compact\" tractors?