Potential Newbie owner

/ Potential Newbie owner #1  

TractorSz

Tractor
trying to decide
Here is my first post,

I have been contemplating getting a tractor for a few months now. I have been trying to find answers by scouring the different threads in TBN.
A great deal of info out there, but now comes the time to request advice...

I am responsible for 35+acres of Pine forest. About 7 freshly planted, the rest big old tall pines with many areas of almost impenetrable undergrowth and with little evidence of good management. There are trails on the perimeter and through the property that will need to be mowed and kept open. Sandy, flat land mostly, with a few acres of wetland. I foresee the need for a tractor, bushhog, FEL and a grapple. Maybe renting a BH at a later date to cut drainage ditches. Have not thought of clearing, tilling and growing anything yet, but everything is possible.

Being 'tractor naive', I am cautious about new Tier 4 tractors and the implications of costly maintenance at a future date. However, the thought of fixing someone else's problems in a used machine that does not come with a warranty, and also from a dealer not depreciating the final cost of used purchases much, is pushing me towards a new tractor. I am not in a hurry to rush into a purchase, just trying to narrow it down to a reasonable group.

There are 3 Kubota , JD dealers and a Yanmar dealer <1.5 hrs away, MF and KIoti further away which may take them out of reckoning?
I thought of the Kub L2501 initially, just to remove the threat of Tier 4 problems, but TBN advice seems to suggest this will not be big enough.