Tractor Sizing Newbie needing advice for first tractor

/ Newbie needing advice for first tractor #1  

RanchGuy

Tractor
None yet
Newbie here

Hey folks, great to be on board here.

My family recently purchased 80 rural acres on the Texas panhandle. I'm not a farmer/rancher, but we have a few horses. The surrounding properties are open cattle land. Our property is all flat, with some uneven terrain and potholes. There is a mix of wild prairie grass, cactus and weeds. We get a few snow storms in winter, and frequent thunder showers year round. The only entry road is a 2 mile hard packed dirt County road. After a big rain or snow drift melt, the road becomes thick mud. We have 4x4 trucks, but we have almost got stuck more than once. A wench is useless because not a lot of trees. So we are in dire need of a 4x4 tractor which will hopefully be able to pull us down the road to the paved highway on occasion with my tow straps and D-Ring Receiver.
We also need a wide deck for grass cutting, a front loader, a snow plow, and a sun/rain canopy. I'm a newbie with tractors, and I don't want to spend big money. Hopefully a good used JD or Kabota, which are the 2 brands we see out here regularly.

If yall can give me a few model recommendations that would be so helpful. Regarding the towing, I need enough horsepower/torque to tow a Ford F-150 out of thick mud/snow.

Thanks!

/ Newbie needing advice for first tractor #2  
:welcome:
To the TBN forum Ranch Guy. Glad you joined with us.

Yes, Amarillo is flat with very few trees and a lot of wind. We had a joke in the Air Force about Amarillo AFB that went some thing like this: You could be gone from the base for 3 days before they would count you as AWOL since they could still see you off in the distance.