Buy big or small?

/ Buy big or small? #1  

willysmb

Bronze Member
Tractor
Massey 1736
I have been researching and thinking for two months on what I wanted for a tractor but I couldn't make a final decision until we bought a house. We finally placed an offer and had it accepted on a great house for my family. Its not on acreage like I wanted but its a great house with an awesome barn and I have the go ahead to buy acreage up North so it will all work out.

I can't make the decision for the life of me on what I want to buy. The house is only on 1.5 acres so its not going to make sense to try and drive a big tractor around the house. The property I will eventually buy will likely be between 40 and 80. The property will be a mix of crops and some spots left to hunt. I would guess between crops and food plots I will plant about 20 acres of it.

The sensible solution for home is to get a small 20-30 hp FEL tractor that can handle mowing, FEL work, moving pallets and stuff in the shop, snow blowing, etc. However, if I buy a small tractor I am certainly not going to have the money to buy a bigger one as well which leaves me purchasing an older tractor for plowing/planting the 20 acres. I could probably use the smaller tractor for planting food plots and doing stuff in the woods preparing for hunting so it would have some advantages being small.

The alternative is that I could just mow my yard with a lawnmower, snow blow with a push snowblower, etc. I could then get a bigger 40-55HP tractor for the fields and skip the older tractor altogether, or even if I did get one, not have to rely on it.

I just cant decide!

/ Buy big or small? #2