Went to first ranch auction - surprised

/ Went to first ranch auction - surprised #1  

dalroo

Bronze Member
Tractor
MX4800
I'm not sure if this is the proper section, but kind of related to pricing, so will start here.

I am somewhat new to this ownership thing, and yesterday attended my first ranch auction. There were several items I was interested in, for the right price. The process was entertaining, and I learned a lot, but many of the items seemed to be going at premium prices. There were a few trailers, a couple of tractors, and many others things of interest, but from my research beforehand, almost everything that I attended for went for near retail values. In advance, I did some research on one of the tractors, and felt the value probably to be 18 or 19,000, and maybe less if motivated seller and a strong negotiator buying. The one at this place, I think because I had quit paying strict attention, went for roughly 21k, but also required a 10% premium, so 23 and change. And that was just one example of many.

There were also a number of guns - rifles and shotguns - that seemed to be going for very nearly retail prices. Guns I kind of get as the market is pretty volatile right now, but still kind of surprised on a lot of these that sold.

Not trying to knock what anyone purchased or the prices they paid, maybe they were needed items and the buyers were very motivated, and I was maybe there with the wrong motive - looking for deals on items I could flip, but I didn't see any real "deals". For those of you who go to these regularly, is this the norm? Or do you just have to go to many, and be at the right price at the right time?

Congratulations to the auctioneers and seller - they achieved their goals of getting the most value out of the items auctioned, ............and maybe I'm just cheap.

/ Went to first ranch auction - surprised #2