Buying Advice Yup. Another newbie.

/ Yup. Another newbie. #1  

extrareserve

Tractor
None
Hi all

I'm a former farmer wife now looking for a small tractor for my boyfriend as a retirement gift. I've never sat in a small tractor before and want to do the right thing.
There is no grass there so no mower needed at this time. It's remotely possible we may need one in the future. We need a loader. He thinks he needs a blade too, but I know he needs a backhoe:D
New isn't necessary, but a well cared for machine is.

Budget (10k) but for screaming deal could go up to 12,500.
Acreage to maintain and type ( 7, foothills/treed)
Terrain (rolling hills)
Climate/location (California foothills. I don't need a snow machine)
3 primary uses (pulling trees, stumps, clearing, making quad trails, moving firewood, etc)
Skill set w/ tractors (little) but very smart and handy guy who can operate and repair equipment
Support other than dealers (fix anything son in law)
How soon (next few months)
Business or Pleasure (pleasure)

Thanks for any assistance. If I should provide more info, please let me know.

Last edited:
   / Yup. Another newbie. #2  
:welcome: to TBN from the other coast line.

/ Yup. Another newbie. #3  
G'day extrareserve and welcome to TBN from Downunder. Each and every member here was a newbie at one point. :)

I note that you spotted and read the thread suggesting a "Newbie Advice Checklist". Well done! That member will be chuffed.

Enjoy the site.

/ Yup. Another newbie. #4