What to look for when buying used

/ What to look for when buying used #1  

Farmhog29

Tractor
none yet
Hi, I'm a newbie here. We've recently bought our first farm ~ 26 acres, half in pasture half in forest with rolling hills. We are looking at tractors, not sure whether to go new or used. New is expensive but aside from being a moderately experienced tractor driver I have zero experience with tractor maintenance or issues and used makes us nervous. We found 2 Kubota M4900's not too far from us but we don't know what to look for when evaluating a used tractor and are a little concerned to shell out over $15K on a used tractor only to discover it's about to fall apart. If there's a thread that gives guidance on this I'd love to read it, below are details of the tractors we found. Can you all provide any advice on questions to be asking, issues to look for or maintenance that should have been performed / might need to be performed in the not too distant future or if hours/price is out of line? Oh and the work we need to do with the future tractor is move round bales +1000lbs, bushog pastures, maintain .25 mile gravel drive & clear the 1 or 2 snowfalls a year. Probably also clean up debris in the front 2-4 acres where an old hog farming operation was, repair/maintain no climb fencing & posts & possibly fertilize/seed/ maintain pastures.

Tractor 1
M4900 ~1000 hours, stored in doors, advertised as regular oil changes, canopy, FEL, 2 rear hydraulic switches, asking $17K
Tractor 2
M4900 ~2500 hours, stored outside, dealer sale, when asked the dealer said "it was a local owner and I think she kept up with it" regarding maintenance & fluid changes, no obvious leaking from what I could tell where hydraulic lines connected, not sure how/where all to look and what exactly to look for. FEL, canopy, rear tires are showing signs of dry rot, $17.9K

Thanks in advance!

/ What to look for when buying used #2