Tractor Sizing Sizing help for 7 acres

/ Sizing help for 7 acres #1  

anewuser

Tractor
Kubota L4400HST
I'm just beginning to look. I've been on my 7 acres for 15 years, but only mow the front 2 with a 50"-cut rider. The other 5 consists of about 3 acres of horse pasture with two horses, and 2 acres of wooded boundaries and an overgrown, wooded lot. Most of it is pretty flat.

The three acres of pasture are too much to mow with my Cub rider, especially when it gets tall and weedy; I haven't had the time to keep the front 2 cut and keep the pasture short enough at the same time. We use square bales, not round, so I don't need a heavy loader, though I do definitely need a FEL for picking up logs, hauling manure and such. Not sure what other implements I'd need - except maybe something to turn the pasture over about every 3 to 5 years. We're not in a snow area, and don't have much driveway to maintain.

Kubota and JD are the only local dealers. New Holland and Mahindra are about 75 miles away. I've been reading some of the posts asking about help with size and don't understand the 26 HP threshold. Something to do with emissions?

Also deciding to buy new or find something used with more power is another decision I need to make.

Thanks for the chance to ask...

/ Sizing help for 7 acres #2  
Yes over 25 hp you get into all kinds of tier IV emission control issues.

I have 18 acres and 4 horses. We have a New Holland Boomer 24. It delivers 24 horse power.

I move manure, bush hog pastures, move dirt, clear snow and till ground with it. It has done everything I have thrown at it.

Would a higher hp tractor done those jobs faster? Of course. However cost of tractor would have gone up dramatically.

You will be able to run a 5 foot bush hog behind one with no problems for pasture. It can even take down small trees.