Buying Advice Looking for first tractor (sub-compact) and flail mower

/ Looking for first tractor (sub-compact) and flail mower #1  

Jerik

Tractor
Kubota B2650
So I am a complete newbie, never even owned a riding mower. My wife and I bought a 9 acres spread 20 years ago as a retirement home. We rented out the house and paid someone to bush-hog the half of the fields twice a year for $500 a pop. Two other fields were being hayed by a neighbor, and another neighbor fenced in another pasture for their cow. Sometimes I would cut the sections of lawn with my push mower (3+ hours), sometimes hire someone. But now the cow is gone, the first neighbor is talking about moving further south, and we are in the house. I figure it is time for me to do the mowing.

My wife was the one who first heard about flail mowers and they really appeal to us. I've been doing some research, found this forum, and have learned a lot. At this point I am thinking about a JD 1025R (PTO = 18 HP) or a Kubota BX-2380 (PTO = 17.7) or a Kubota BX-2680 (PTO = 19.5), along with a WoodMaxx FM-54 (minimum PTO = 18 HP). I figure getting a new tractor will make it much easier on me with service & maintenance, being a newbie, plus the used ones I've seen listed almost always come with either a FEL or a mower. Since I would be using it almost exclusively to pull the flail, I'm thinking I can save $3K by not getting a loader.

How important is having a position control 3 point hitch with a flail mower? Since the flail is supposed to ride on the rear roller, it seems to me that the having the 3 point hitch either up or down is sufficient, but I could easily be missing something.