heavy brush hogging

/ heavy brush hogging #1  

rantumscoot

I'm a newbie primarily looking to maintain about a mile of 20' cross country ski trails that will go through some seriously thick bittersweet (2-4" roots) with some muddy areas. Initial cuts are being made by local friend with bulldozer and excavator.

As I'm doing this twice/year, speed isn't a factor. If I use a 48" or 60" rotarty cutter, what power at PTO do I really need? Any ideas on attaching a brush chipper (rear or side PTO) for laying down wood chips to slow future growth?

/ heavy brush hogging #2  
The folks around here that maintain 40' pipeline right of ways are running Heston 4wd tractors in the 50-60 pto hp range. Of course they don't go over a R/W yearly so there's usually some fair sized saplings and brush by the time they return. Along with the tractor there's usually a couple of guys with chainsaws in the crew for the heavier stuff. Once that's cut, the guy on the tractor uses the mower to shove it off to the side, They're more interested in fast than pretty. The R/W looks fine but they leave piles off to the side along the way.

Depending on how much brush you have, you could be looking at a lot of chipping. Don't expect the chips to stop regrowth unless it's piled deep. Might be easier to pile it out of the way.

/ heavy brush hogging #3  
Rant
Welcome to the TBN.
If, as you state, the R/W is cleared initially, and you are going to mow it twice a year, there will be no need to plan anything heavy in the way of brush to chip, or a brush cutter, or high hp.

If the ground is left too rough after initial clearing, then getting a brush cutter through the debris or over the terrain may be the only major problem (dirt mounds, root balls, rocks, etc).

/ heavy brush hogging #4  
Do you own a tractor or looking to buy? Are you buying a tractor soley for this use?

/ heavy brush hogging
Looking to buy, preferrably slightly used. Kubota and JD have good servicing dealers in my area.