Contemplating Massey 1235

/ Contemplating Massey 1235 #1  

whenley

Hello All,
I am new to the TBN group but have been lurking on this and any other CT forums I can find for the last couple months. I am debating buying a sub-CUT or CUT. I presently have an old Ferguson TO20 with a rear blade, single bottom furrowing plow, and a rear 'scoop'. Its a good old tractor but I made the mistake of looking at these new CUTs and really think I want a FEL. Those little diesels are just so nice.

I have 10 acres, 8 of which are woods. I need the tractor for dragging up fallen or felled trees (logs) for firewood, pushing up brush piles for bonfire, minor excavating, bringing firewood to the house, wheelbarrow replacement, and gardening (though the TO20 is good for that). Manuverability in the tight woods is key.

I would like to keep my expenditure below $10,000 ($12,000 max!). Narrowed things down to Kub B7510, Kioti CK20 (both a little pricey slightly more than my $12K max), one of the Chinese Jinma/Nortrac types, or a used Massey Ferguson 1235 at a local dealer.

I wanted to ask the forum about the MF1235. I havent been able to find a lot of info/specs on it. It has a MF1244 FEL, 3 range Hydrostatic, 30HP I think. 6 or 7 years old. Looks to be in decent shape, mostly easy usage clearing parking lots of snow, etc. Looks like it was stored primarily outside (faded paint, surface rust, weathered tires), some cosmetic damage to hood/headlight area where something probably fell out of FEL bucket. 961 hours. This seems high. The dealer wants $9500 (before dicker). What do you think? I would probably want new tires and a toothbar.

My biggest worry is the hours. 961 hrs seems a lot - but I have no experience - would like any opinions. What should I look for if I get more serious? I will try to attach a photo.