373 hours, a lot or not?

/ 373 hours, a lot or not? #1  

Benzark

Tractor
Century 2535
I am a rank newbie, but I have been looking for a tractor to help me out around my place. Just 10.4 acres, mostly hilly and wooded, some level and cleared.

I have looked at a Century at a local dealer (model 2535) for about $15,500 with FEL.

A neighbor recently told me he wanted to sell his 2003 Case DX 25 with FEL and hydrostatic transmission, for whatever he still owed on it... ( about $11,000)

It has 373 hours on it, which he says is not much, because most of the time it is just sitting and idling, and not working.

It appears to be in "fairly" good shape physically, some fading from sitting out in the sun.

But this seems like a lot of hours to me.

Thanks!

/ 373 hours, a lot or not? #2  
</font><font color="blue" class="small">( this seems like a lot of hours to me )</font>

Many homeowners only put about 100 hours a year on a tractor, but for any farmer, 373 hours would hardly be considered broken in yet. Until it gets 10 times that many hours on it, I wouldn't start thinking it's got a lot of hours on it. That one's still almost new.

/ 373 hours, a lot or not? #3  
I have a Cub Cadet that is closing in on 7 years old and i have only 251 hours on it. Hours are relative. On a diesel engine, this is nothing if it has been taken care of. If it has been left outside for 7 years and never been greased or had the oil changed, then you may be looking at some maintenance costs...

/ 373 hours, a lot or not? #4  
Hi …
That like Bird said that is not bad for hours… The price, I don’t know, you will have to check what a used DX is going for. If the price is close to right, you may have a great chance to buy a tractor knowing its history. Your neighbor, unless he is moving, will likely be honest about it. He most likely will let you try it out at your place to see if it is up to your expectations.