Tractor Sizing What size tractor for me?

/ What size tractor for me? #1  

jhb

Silver Member
Tractor
BX23
OK, 1st post, and I am in the process of going through the information on this site, but thought I might post a question to see what responses I get at the same time.

I am new to tractors, never owned one, never been on one. However, I just bought a house in southern MA and have lots of landscaping work to do, and love to do things myself.

Here is my situation. I own .6 acres, largley flat but over ledge, I have LOTS of drainage issues, and some "damp" land (don't want to use the "w" word!). I need to regrade and dig french drains on most of the property. I also will be learning how to make stone walls, and have lots of stone walls currently on the property I will be moving.

So, for the most part I need to move stone, regrade and then mow when complete. I figure I should be at it for a few years, and I definitley need equipment to do so.

I know I want an FEL and BH, and a mower. A snowblower would be cool too, especially afer the 40+ inches we just got.

I would like to get used, but they are hard to find around here.

I am seriously thinking about a sub-compact Kubota BX22, BX23 etc. The closest dealer is John Deere, and I have seen some Kiotis around.

I have also seen an Iron Horse with FEL and BH advertised for 12k, new, which seems a possibility

So I guess my question is, what is a good tractor for me? I would like to keep it under 10k, but I also want something reliable. What should I consider?

Thanks, and sorry for the long post!

/ What size tractor for me? #2  
I think in $ C, but I don't think you will be able to get a tractor, FEL, and hoe , new or used, at any size, for under $10K. A front blower would cost at least a few thousand more.