What type of tractor to get??

/ What type of tractor to get?? #1  

jwk

I'm totally new to tractors. I just bought 11 acres and need a tractor. Any help I can get would be greatly appreciated.

What I need it for:
- 11 acres, flat, heavily wooded, can get pretty soggy
- make a driveway -- grade it, push around gravel, etc.
- clear out brush, maybe small trees?
- lawn grading, eventually mowing (once I build)
- once I get built, I'm sure I'll need it for general maintenance

I don't want to spend too much, a used tractor would be OK I think. I'd like to stay under $10K if possible, but I don't know if it is, for what I want.

How much tractor do I need? what implements? Thanks in advance for any comments!!

/ What type of tractor to get?? #2  
JWK . Welcome to TBN ! Your first post sounds a bit like mine /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif
Not to sound discouraging,but 10k for a decent tractor for your needs is a bit optimistic . You are most likely needing a tractor in the 20-30 Hp range with an FEL and 4wd. Implements like a brush hog ,and rearblade/boxblade push up the price as well . That pushes up the cost to around 15-25 K . , Depending on the makes and models You choose . Sorry if I caused You some "sticker shock ". Good luck shopping . And hopefullyYou'll have to spend less than I stated .;
John

/ What type of tractor to get?? #3  
JWK, welcome, we have something in common, we both have 11 acres in Texas, that are heavilyl wooded, and both have similar to do lists.

After much reading here, and much price comparision I purchased a JD 790 MFWD, with loader, box blade, post hole digger and a LX 5 cutter. Since then I have added a harrow rake and a set of forks for the loader.

The tractor has done everything I have asked of it, (I have had it for a little more than a year now) and has allowed me to make incredible progess on my property.

I looked at used tractors but with the financing deals available on new, it just wasn't that much more to get a new one.