Advice on Garden / Compact Tractors

/ Advice on Garden / Compact Tractors #1  

baray

Very new to this! Just purchased 5.5 acres. Mostly grassy with some brush. Also have two new horses. The land has genle slopes in spots. My question is what type of equipment do I need to maintain the field? Not sure how much the horses will eat down. Looking for the cheapest most reliable way out. Attachment capability would be nice, but not a MUST. If I could, I would use a post hole digger, a bucket in front to move sand, dirt, and manure, and maybe a blade to smooth the driveway. Any help would be appreciated. Afterall, Im very very new to this. North Central Texas area.

/ Advice on Garden / Compact Tractors #2  
You have a lot of need for attachments, whether you know it or not right now.

5.5 acres for me would be the thin line between sub and compact tractoring.........although if I were to move to 5.5, my wife would never let me get another new tractor.

With no hills to speak of or slopes that are "really sloping" I would probably go with compact. Implements are going to be coming, no way around it. The horses will help with pasture grooming, but you may want to drag it sometime. You may want a garden or 2 and a tiller will be welcome.

What does the owner have now? What are the building plans, landscaping plans, Lots of work will follow.

As for color, I am partial to Orange, but that is not as important as dealer, deal, service, trust, availability during down time, implement purchase verses renting, and mobility of the equipment to the dealer for service.

Good Luck with whatever and remember photos are nice and we love them on here. Nothing like a new tractor to spruce up the site

/ Advice on Garden / Compact Tractors #3  
Your going to need a york rake before anything else. Those horses will make quite a mess in no time. Is you land cross fenced? Do you have a "throw away" pasture?