Why is Gross HP used?

/ Why is Gross HP used? #1  

hbaird

Silver Member
Tractor
Jinma JM200LE
I am new to tractors. I know Horsepower is work done over time. I understand Flywheel Horsepower and Rear wheel Horsepower. The former is the work that can be accomplished at the flywheel, IE, before drive train loses. The latter is the work applied to the load after all transmission loses. Most engines have fuel to pump, oil to pump, and many have an alternator / generator load, and water to pump, this load is normally subtracted from the maximum production of the engine before computing HP because most engines won't run long without these accessories. Transmission loses are low,1% to 3%, for mechanical gearboxes and higher for hydraulic drive train systems. The US, some time ago, sold autos using a, somewhat imaginary, marketing based rating for HP. Now the convention is real Flywheel HP. So where does Gross fit in all of this and why is it used for some tractors? I expect there must be a reason some Tractor vendors, but not many in the world, use Gross HP. I can't find any practical Industrial use for the term. Any reply would be helpfull.
Harold

/ Why is Gross HP used? #2  
Harold, Gross HP is simply a marketing ploy. Every tractor company seems to have settled on using Gross HP to describe the HP of their tractors, at least that is true with compact tractors. When you wrote that there is no practical use for it, you are absolutely correct. A more effective real world measurement would be HP after deducting for loads.

What is even more troubling is the capacity measurement points. Some manufactures measure their 3pt lift capacity at the ball eyes at the end of the 3pt arms. But a much more practical, real life capacity measurement is actually 24" behind the ball eyes. Kubota, New Holland and Massey Ferguson measure honestly at 24" behind the ball eyes in their marketing marterials. John Deere provides these measurements in some of their material.