Newbie with 11 Acres needs advice please...

/ Newbie with 11 Acres needs advice please... #1  

MartinT

Tractor
Possibly a NH TC33DA
I am a complete newbie to not only this forum, but to farming and tractors. By newbie, I mean I have never even sat in a tractor---let alone driven one! But that is all about to change. I need a tractor... Here's why;

I recently purchased an 11 acre Christmas Tree farm that is rather run down. The farm sits on the side of a hill. I need to do lots of leveling of dirt roads (many deep ruts due to extreme rain and erosion last year), some brush clearing, general mowing between rows in the groves of trees, etc. I also need to drag a half-mile dirt road to the main highway that is very steep in one section and has very deep ruts that may require fill before the boxblade gets used. (Drag only down hill---correct?) So, like I said, I need a tractor. A friend that owns a small heavy equipment company made a suggestion and it indeed looks good. But I would appreciate any advice or suggestions as to what anyone here thinks of his recommendation before I make the plunge.

He recommends the New Holland TC33DA with the appropriate front loader and a six-foot box blade with adjustable rippers, and later a back hoe for a long underground utility run and culvert installations that I plan. Also he says get the 4X4 model with the "super steer" option to make the turns for the tree groves. (Or, if not, I guess I could skip every other row, and then make another pass?)

I am particularly interested in the safe angles that I can use the TC33DA and it's "super steer" on the side of the hills. Although the groves run up and down the hill, I will still have to make turns at the top (the bottom is less steep). This looks pretty scary. Anyone know the safe angles on the TC33DA? I will be installing an inclinometer for sure! But I still need to know the safety angles and I don't see them published anywhere.

Thanks very much for any advice and info...