Need a tractor

/ Need a tractor #1  

member12

I know nothing about tractors at all.

I am new to the construction industry, and I could safe a lot of money by buying a tractor in the $10k-$15K range used primarily for grading and clearing vacant lots for single family home building. I would also like a front loader that can lift things into a dumpster (around 85" high).
I would need to scrape topsoil to about 3", and clear small diameter (up to 2.5") trees and brush. The climate is southern Louisiana- hot and sticky summers around 85 degrees.
I have a 1999 Chevrolet Suburban diesel rated to tow up to 10000 pounds- so the tractor has to fit on that via 18' dual axle trailer also rated at 10000 pounds with a ramp included.
My price range is up to $14000. I am looking for a safe product, but I am trying to save money, so I need lowest cost to own.

One less person to hire to clear land prior to building would save me on average $2500 a year. The tractor would have to last about 6 years to cover its cost. I'd probably use it for 3-6 hours a week. I would be the primary user. No one touches equipment this expensive but me. I would also use it for light residential mowing- but its primary and most important purpose is grading and loading.

Like I said before, I havent' used tractors before, but I need one now to cut a little more off the bottom line for me.

My former employer used a bobcat- but I don't plan to build on the scope of what he did, and need something a little more multipurpose than that, with better parts availability.

I have checked out Kubota and John Deere's websites and came up royaly confused. Diesel or gas? I have no idea what brand or size would be best. I just wanted to get a little info before I just buy what seems right. I have no brand preference but one that has cheap, widely available parts.
Thank you. Any help would be appreciated.

/ Need a tractor #2