Another first time buyer looking for help

/ Another first time buyer looking for help #1  

bloody_peasant

Silver Member
Tractor
MF 1010
I'm a total rookie/green horn/noob/etc when it comes to tractors, but have been researching them now off an on for about 6 mo. and bought the book from this site and read up on them some more. I'm looking for some advice on what to look for in size, features, and attachments.

Here's my situation:
I have about 3.5 acres of cleared flat pasture and another acre I want to clear (also flat). The overgrown acre I will probably have to clear mostly by hand as it is also my septic field and I really don't want to put any heavy equipment on it (or at least I don't think I do)?

I just finished mowing the cleared pastures (with my push mower /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif, its now came down to either going through with the "goat plan" or getting a tractor) so they are clear now, but are quickly growing up. I think from what I've read so far I would prefer a mid mount mower. The cleared pasture also has some ruts and rough areas where a previous tractor was stuck. I would like to smooth these out.

I'm still debating what to do with my fields right now, but things like a small orchard and/or berries are coming to mind. The previous owner had horses so they have a mixture of rye, Bermuda, clover, and fescue on them right now (along with weeds and small trees).

So for now my big tasks I need to do are:
1. Mowing
2. Smoothing/grading.
3. Hauling/Spreading (compost, mulch, fertilizer, & seed)
4. Digging up small beds or holes for trees.
5. Clearing some brush but not much (I can always use my weedeater & push mower /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif).
6. Maintaining less than 100' of gravel driveway (very light grading & spreading).
7. Keeping my fence line maintained.
8. Gardening (intensive gardening and/or green house).
9. Small to medium tree stump removal (no bigger than 8" diam.).