New Guy needs expert advise on tractors

/ New Guy needs expert advise on tractors #1  

Blu 82

Bronze Member
I am new to this world and am going thru the tractor selection process. I have read as much as I can but haven't really found good comparisons on tractor brands. Here is my situation: 125 acres, 8 acre pond, have about 50 acres in pine (15 yrs old and up) and the rest natural forest and some semi-cleared area. I would like a tractor to clear/prep an area for a house, maintain roads, clear some areas, plant maybe 10-15 acre garden for personal use and sales, mow about 10-15 acres, maintain/work on pond, put up fence, other? I believe I need 4 WD tractor with a front end loader and forks, heavy duty box blade, bush hog/mower, post-hole digger, other (backhoe)? I have been told I need a 70 HP tractor and I have looked at some between 50 and 70 HP. I have no brand loyalty and am open to almost anything except Chinese (unless someone can convince me that these are reliable, maintainable, and have good dealerships--from what I have read this isn't the case). I have personally looked at Mahindra, Kubota, MF. From what I have read and seen, the Mahindra is heavier and can lift more both w/FEL and 3 pt (so far best price); Kubota is the lightest but by all accounts is a quality tractor; MF didn't impress me and the dealer was the most expensive by far. There are also Deere dealers close and probably others. It seems almost all if not all tractors are made overseas so buying American isn't an issue and that most folks are satisfied w/whatever tractor they have (except Chinese) which doesn't make selection process easy. I want quality, reliability, parts/service availability, and a good price. Ergonomics are important but being new I think I can adapt to most things. I don't want to pay for a name. There are numerous dealers in my area (Florida panhandle). Any good advice is greatly appreciated. If you believe one brand is better than another, please state why. Thanks