Kubotas

/ Kubotas #1  

RussMan

Silver Member
Tractor
B3030 w/ FEL and 72" midmt
I am in the market for a small tractor - 25-30 hp. for 13 acreas I recently purchased. I am considering Kubota, JD, Mahindra (although from the specs seems to be a heavy tractor), and possibly Kioti.

What is the difference between the Kubota 3030 and the Kubota 7800 - they both seem fairly similar to me?

Also, do all small tractors (25-30 hp) have a glow plug or is something I need to be mindful of when I buy?

/ Kubotas #2  
Depending on what your tasks are, heavy might be exactly what you need. Weight is your friend for digging and ground engagement. Most tractors will lose traction before they run out of power. Weight lets you maximize power to the ground. For backhoeing, a light tractor will get thrown around more , thereby reducing your efficiency. However, Weight is not your friend for finish mowing, soft turf, or towing (the tractor). Not good for you toe either.

I'm no bota expert. I'm sure there will be comments from those who are. But, the 3030 to me seems to be way more tractor than the 7800. I have always looked at the 7800 as a BX24 with Big/long legs. The 7800 is also pretty narrow, and that scares me. Though there are uses where this is an advantage.

Glow plugs are a must if you live in cold climates and are looking at diesels. I think most "modern" diesels use glow plugs. You should test drive all the models you list, plus NH, MF, Case, Branson, and TYM. Your choice should be based on intended uses and dealer support. Ergonomics and such are personal choices that should also be considered. But, you won't know if you don't test them out.

/ Kubotas #3  
RussMan said:
I am in the market for a small tractor - 25-30 hp. for 13 acreas I recently purchased. I am considering Kubota, JD, Mahindra (although from the specs seems to be a heavy tractor), and possibly Kioti.