Newby needs advice: GT vs SCUT vs CUT (and, of course) 2305 vs 2320

/ Newby needs advice: GT vs SCUT vs CUT (and, of course) 2305 vs 2320 #1  

Seanachie

Howdy, I’m a newbie from KY and I’d like to request some advice. We have a small (23 acre) gentleman’s horse farm in western Kentucky. We bought it when it was in need of maintenance and repair, both to the land and the house. I’ve pretty much got the house part solved but am wondering what to buy to maintain/repair the land.

We’ve got 4-5 acres of sloping lawn to be mown weekly and 10 acres of semi-smooth (and semi-bumpy) pasture to be limed, dragged, and knocked down 4-5 times a year. The prior owners left a bunch of tree tops at or in the woodline and I’d like to move them to either the wood pile or the burning pile. I also want to maintain/ expand some overgrown riding trails through the woods.

We’ve got two horse at the moment and plan to add more within a few years. Obviously, horses mean muck carts and moving organic fertilizer. I have a big muck/compost pile that’ll need to get turned soon. I’ve got some minor landscaping project planned like flower beds and vegetable gardens for sometime in the future. We also have a ¼ mile long gravel driveway which will require maintenance.

I’m just finishing up 20 years of playing Army and Uncle Sam keeps me out of town a lot, therefore my beloved spouse will be the primary lawnmower and property maintainer for the next year or so. I won’t really be able to spend a lot of time on a tractor for a couple of years.

We had a Cub 1042 which died an ugly death after 550 hours. :( (Yeah, I know it wasn’t big enough for that place but it was perfect for the 1 ½ acre level suburban carpet, er, lawn at our last house.) Now we need to replace it. No lawn tractor means no tow-behind garden trailer and the wheelbarrow gets old quick.

Options: