Tractor Sizing What size tractor?

/ What size tractor? #1  

plf5

Tractor
Kubota BX2350
I am a newbie and would appreciate your help. What size tractor would you suggest to handle mowing of 3 acres and snow plowing a 350' driveway in Colorado? Would a blade suffice to plow the snow, or would a blower be required? Thanks in advance for your help.

/ What size tractor? #2  
plf5 said:
I am a newbie and would appreciate your help. What size tractor would you suggest to handle mowing of 3 acres and snow plowing a 350' driveway in Colorado? Would a blade suffice to plow the snow, or would a blower be required? Thanks in advance for your help.

I'd look at one of the smaller CUT's or a sub CUT. I think my first choice would be a Kubota B7510 series (or equivalent Deere or New Holland).

As far as moving snow...it depends how much you normally get. I use a 72" back blade, but I make my first passes before it gets too deep. About 8" is when I'll start (but I'm operating a Deere 790 which is considerably bigger and heavier then a B7510). My drive is about 130' or a bit more, so a snow blower isn't worth it to me.

Good luck! I'm sure many other TBNer's will chime in to help you spend your money!

/ What size tractor? #3  
Welcome to TBN! :)

A lot of things go into determining the size of tractor that you need. For instance, you mention a 350' driveway in Colorado.... is that a flat driveway or up the side of a mountain? Same thing goes for the lawn... flat, rolling hills or steep slopes?

As for snow removal. We don't get too terrible much snow here where I live, so a plow works fine. In heavy snow areas, you really have to plan where to place your snow piles with a plow and sometimes it snows so much there is no where left to put it. In those situations, a blower would probably be a better choice.

So, a little more information about your land and drive as well as amount of snowfall and your elevation would be helpful. ;)

/ What size tractor? #4