Need advice - soup to nuts

/ Need advice - soup to nuts #1  

95_tlc

Hello

I have read information on this forum before and have enjoyed peeking into the vast knowledge of some of the folks who visit here. Here is my situation, with some misc. data points, and I am hoping for some great advice.

I am in the process of purchasing 30-acres of property in SE Texas. The land is flat, except for the occasional creek bed. The current owner of the property finish mows about 4-acres with a ZTR, brush hogs about 10-acres and the rest is wooded - except for 3-acres of ponds. I have looked at the green, orange, red and blue tractors locally - primarily in the 30ish HP range. I have no color preference, however each of the major brands has a local dealership. All I own right now is a 42" cut John Deere riding mower that I use at the home I am selling.

Please advise me on combinations, HP range, transmission types (I do have two young children <10 yrs. old), implements, etc. I am an engineer, so I can analyze things to death and never make a decision which is why I am asking for your advice.

One more thing - I don't want this to sway your advice, but one thing to consider is that in the future I MIGHT convert part of the property to a hay field (10-acres or so) and have a few cows and horses.

Thanks in advance for your help.

/ Need advice - soup to nuts #2