Undecided what to by

/ Undecided what to by #1  

Bobaievoli

I am new to the tractor world. I have 21 hilly wooded acres in Virginia. I would like to get a tractor to move dirt, clear woods, clear brush and many more challenges. I have been told tractor weight is very important in evaluating tractors. I have spoken with John Deere about the 4300 with front loader and they want $19,600 (not including tax) and the New Holland dealership wanted $18,000 for the TD 33 with front loader (not including tax). I will heavily use the front loader. Again, the terrain here is very hilly and I am a new comer to using a tractor - aside from my lawn tractor. I am concerned about tractor reliability and safety. Your help in making this decision is appreciated.

/ Undecided what to by #2  
You didn't mention <font color=orange>KUBOTA<font color=orange><font color=black>/w3tcompact/icons/shocked.gif
Kubota has some grand L series.

/ Undecided what to by #3  
Bogaievoli,

Welcome to the forum and welcome to the tractor search process. If you are like many of us, figuring out what to buy will be harder than half of the jobs you will use it for./w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif Being that you are brand new to the tractor world, I would suggest that a great starting point is the book authored by the founder of this forum. It covers the basics about tractors and implements as well as offers many buying and safety tips. If you go to the home page there is a banner that will lead you to information about the book so you can see if it would be of interest to you.

Another wealth of information can be found by doing some searches here on the forum. I will warn you that it can take more than a few minutes to read even part of what is available.