Ploughing with Case 885 (req: hints & tips)

/ Ploughing with Case 885 (req: hints & tips) #1  

daz

Tractor
Case 885XL & International 276
Following on from my oil leak question I've also been tasked with ploughing our field which is something I've never done before so I'm after some general advice on how I should go about it. I'm quite happy with topping, mowing, baling etc but as I say this is a first...

For a bit of background the field in question is about 6-7 acre's in size, roughly square and with a slight even downhill slope. Its currently got short grass on it and the ground is a minimum 12" of decent topsoil on top of a layer of clay and stone. The reason for ploughing is mostly that this year we got caught out by the unseasonal rain here in the UK which ruined the hay crop on the half of the field we were making, which we've had to abandon and leave laying. Also the grass is very patchy thanks to how the previous owner worked the field then seeded the bits he'd worked so we'd like to basically start again from scratch with a grass variety more suited to hay/our horses needs.

We've got a manually reversable two furrow plough (for which I will rig something up into the cab so I can flip it) and I figure our 885XL should be man enough for the job, but I have the following questions:

- I've been told we will need weights on the front, I've found somewhere that can supply some locally at a reasonable price but how much would I need? (I don't yet have the operators manual if its in there)

- Given the above field condition What sort of gear/speed should I be looking at doing the job? Bearing in mind I don't have a working tach so should I be looking at say low ratio first/second gear or high ratio first gear and at approximately what revs, torque boost on or off... ?

- A friend tells me that when I drop down into the previous furrow I should engage the diff lock otherwise the wheels will just spin, is he right?