Case IH 275 cooling question

/ Case IH 275 cooling question #1  

Steven Jencso

I have a Case IH 275 30 HP diesel engine. After running it for 5 to 10 minutes coolant starts coming out of the top of the overflow tank. I have replaced the radiator cap with a 7 lb cap. Could it have a stuck thermostat? Any help would be appreciated.

/ Case IH 275 cooling question #2  
Steven Jencso said:
I have a Case IH 275 30 HP diesel engine. After running it for 5 to 10 minutes coolant starts coming out of the top of the overflow tank. I have replaced the radiator cap with a 7 lb cap. Could it have a stuck thermostat? Any help would be appreciated.

I am by no means an expert but my first guess is a good chance it doesn't have a thermostat. I would also suspect the radiator needs a good cleaning....very common problem on older tractors (I was topping off my fluids last week and noticed mine was looking a little crusty). A radiator shop can rod it out and clean/dip it for you ( maybe $50 or so?).
You may also want to do a search on this site and see if you can find similar posts and solutions.

Good luck,

/ Case IH 275 cooling question
Hi
Thanks Darryl
last fall I had the radiator out and to a shop were it was cleaned and a crack repaired. I had the thermostat out this weekend and it opened when boiled. I am going to try a 18 lbs radiator cap. this is what the speck sheet called for, but the radiator repair shop said to go with a 7 lb cap.
The dealer said it might be a blown head gasket.But 2 people
Have told me if the head gasket was blown the tractor would not run as it is a diesel.
Thanks again
Steve

/ Case IH 275 cooling question #4