IH 444 clutch slipping

/ IH 444 clutch slipping #1  

Farmagain

Tractor
Kubota L4310
I have an IH 444 diesel with 3164 hours. I bought it 4 years ago with 3000 hours . The clutch has always slipped when pulling hard in any high range gear. It will spin the tires without slipping in the lower 4 gears but has always slipped under a heavy load in upper gears. It has not been a problem since I only use the lower gears and slower speeds when pulling something hard. I wonder if this is an adjustment issue or if the clutch is going out. If it needs replacing, how much work is it, and how much does it cost. I am a fair mechanic, but have never cracked a tractor open. Replacing an inverter in a Prius would be the most advanced job I've ever done, mainly just replaced radiators, starters, etc. Any input would be appreciated.

/ IH 444 clutch slipping #2  
I have an IH 444 diesel with 3164 hours. I bought it 4 years ago with 3000 hours . The clutch has always slipped when pulling hard in any high range gear. It will spin the tires without slipping in the lower 4 gears but has always slipped under a heavy load in upper gears. It has not been a problem since I only use the lower gears and slower speeds when pulling something hard. I wonder if this is an adjustment issue or if the clutch is going out. If it needs replacing, how much work is it, and how much does it cost. I am a fair mechanic, but have never cracked a tractor open. Replacing an inverter in a Prius would be the most advanced job I've ever done, mainly just replaced radiators, starters, etc. Any input would be appreciated.
Do you have clutch pedal free play(free travel of the clutch pedal before it contacts the throw out bearing or the TOB contacts the pressure plate)?

If you have free play and it slips it is most likely the pressure plate is weak and the clutch and all associated parts will have to be replaced.

/ IH 444 clutch slipping #3