Case IH 234 front PTO electric clutch troubleshooting

/ Case IH 234 front PTO electric clutch troubleshooting #1  

Jim Richardson

Tractor
Kubota B2100 HSD, Kubota B2910 HST, Husqvarna 48" lawn tractor
Hi all. I am a newbie to tractors, a newbie to farming, and hoping for some guidance from some more experienced than myself.

I was mowing yesterday (minding my own business, of course) when the mower blades stopped spinning. The belt doesn't move. When I turn on the electric clutch for the front PTO, I get nothing. I have a Woods F-35 belly mower run off of a front PTO that was optional on the 1986 IH 234 tractor. I have dug through the forums here to find and answer, but have not quite found one.

There is a wire connection at the electric clutch for the PTO. I put a test light on it, turned on the key, turned on the front electric PTO switch, and no light. That could mean no juice, or that the engine must be running for juice. I next ran a wire directly from the battery to the wire connection at the clutch, and got the "click". So I deduce that the clutch works. I dropped the electric front PTO switch from the dashboard, turned on the key, and tried my test light on all six of the switch connectors. No juice. I turned on the electric front PTO switch (key still on) and still no juice at any connector on the PTO switch. I suspect there is a break in the circuit between the ignition switch and the electric PTO switch.

My wiring diagram says there is a red wire from the ignition switch to the PTO switch, and a wire with a 10A fuse between the PTO switch and the electric PTO clutch. I can't find that 10A fuse in the wire. But even if I could find it and it were blown, I should have juice at the PTO switch.