IH560 PTO Question

/ IH560 PTO Question #1  

Anonymous Poster

Above the 560's pto there is what looks like an oil fill plug and some other little fixture with a cap on it. I'm fairly new to this 560, and know this sounds dumb, but what is this for? Thanks!

/ IH560 PTO Question #2  
Since I'm really not familiar with the 560 myself, I'm wondering how far above the pto that fill plug is; up on the horizontal surface? I'll just take a wild guess that the fill plug is for the hydraulic oil and the little fixture is the vent./w3tcompact/icons/tongue.gif

BirdSig.jpg

/ IH560 PTO Question #3  
konkedh
I had a Farmal 340. It had a breather and filler on top of the PTO housing. PTO is a separate system from main transmission. I removed it a couple of times trying to correct a problem with not being able to stop PTO from turning. If I stepped on PTO lever PTO would stop. But would not stay stopped unless there was an implement with a load attached to it. /w3tcompact/icons/frown.gif I finally gave up. Made a cap for PTO shaft so nobody would get injured by it turning all the time. /w3tcompact/icons/smile.gif I'm don't remember if it used same type of oil as transmission. /w3tcompact/icons/tongue.gif

18-30594-ronssig2.gif

/ IH560 PTO Question
You are probably right. The plug is on top of the pto housing. Thanks for replying!

/ IH560 PTO Question
My problem is I can't move the lever. So it's similar to your problem. Only thing is, since it's a live pto, I can't put anything on it without shutting off the engine. Not real safe. I really appreciate the input, let me know if you happen to think of anything else.

/ IH560 PTO Question #6  
konkedh

I believe you can remove the complete PTO assembly from tractor after draining oil from PTO housing. I picked up an after market manual for my 340 at TSC. It had a section on PTO repair.

18-30594-ronssig2.gif

/ IH560 PTO Question