help fo ra newbie with IH tractor

/ help fo ra newbie with IH tractor #1  

EnviroEd

Tractor
JD 5303
Hi, I'm new to farming and have been lurking around this site for about 5 months now trying to gather information to buy a tractor. I'v been dreaming of a new tractor w/ cab but sometimes I just have to come back to earth and live with my paycheck. That's why I'm finally asking for help now.
I found this International tractor on a farm for sale that I'd like to find out more about. The farmer told me he thinks it's a 1972 model with around 42 hp. He thought it was a 365 but the numbers aren't on the sides and I don't know where else to look. It's a diesel tractor that starts right up with no smoke after the first few minutes and everything else seems to work ok. He let me use the tractor with a brush hog for about 45 min. the tractor never missed a lick and the power steering and 3ph worked good, I even tried the diff lock. Now I'd like to find out more on this tractor. What other things should I be looking at? It has 2 hyd fittings on the back and I'd also like to know if a loader could be put on the tractor. Thanks for any help.

/ help fo ra newbie with IH tractor #2  
You might want to check out TractorHouse.com and look at the photos to see the tractor. I briefly looked and can't find any 365 model in there list.
It may be a 4xx since the 3xx were 30 something HP.
At least you will be able to find the model this way.

It's real good you were able to run it for that long. The last old tractor I looked at had the throw-out bearing screaming after 10 minutes of run time.

/ help fo ra newbie with IH tractor