Case 885 lift

/ Case 885 lift #1  

cmatthew

Tractor
3.5 HP Toro 22" cut w/bagger ----Wish I could get a real tractor!
Hey guys, I'm new to the sight. I appreciate the opportunity join in the discussion forum. I thought I'd jump right in with a problem a friend of mine has been having with a "new" tractor of his. He bought a Case 885 (unsure of year, maybe late '70-early '80s) about 9 months ago for bush hogging and keeping his gravel/dirt roads in shape. A couple months ago the lift started giving him trouble. To begin with it was slow to raise the bush hog up and now has gradually gotten to the point to where it won't raise at all even with the implements taken off. Well, I should say it will raise within about 10 minutes if you go in and have a cup of coffee while the tractor is outside running. We had trouble finding anyone in this area who would even look at the tractor. The one who would help out checked the hydraulic pressure (he thought the pump might have given up the ghost.) The gauge read @2200psi so he told us the pump was not bad. Unfortunately he had no other ideas. Someone told us the filter might be plugged, but I believe there is a bypass valve that would still let the fluid flow(?) We haven't gotten around to changing the filter to see if that solves anything.
I was wondering if anyone might have run into a similar problem or are familiar enough with this model to know how to solve this problem.

/ Case 885 lift #2