Branson 4720i or LS R4020

/ Branson 4720i or LS R4020 #1  

jakeb47

I've narrowed my search down to one of the above tractors. Have been quoted what I believe to be an excellent price by the LS dealer. I really like the tractor. I've down sized and will be using the tractor to rake hay and move rould bales (winter feeding) and loader work. Price includes Tractor (SS transmission), Loader with R1's. I've sat on and liked a Branson 4720 (haven't had an oportunity to discuss price yet with the Branson Dealer). Might sound strange but I perfered the Branson fuel tank location (low and on the left side) over the LS. The LS has also been sold as a MC CT47 and as a Montana R4944 as well. Now my question to all you knowledgeable folks, What tractor would you go with and why? Pros and cons of both. Thanks in advance.

/ Branson 4720i or LS R4020 #2  
I'm still a newbie so my opinion is worth what you pay for it, but here it is anyway. I also looked at the McCormick CT47 before buying a Branson 4720h. I'm sure either of these tractors would be fine for what you are doing, but for me it came down to price and dealer. The specs are pretty similar with the exception of weight, so the dealer should be a big factor.

To me, the McCormick had better ergonomics and seemed to be a newer design, but felt smaller. It also comes standard with two rear remotes. I never got the chance to drive one, but I've read comments on how quiet the Mitsubishi engine is, while the Branson seemed a bit noisy (not too bad though).

On the other hand, the Branson weighs about 500lbs more (weight=traction), has a great turning radius, and felt more substantial to me. I'm not sure where you're at on price, but you can look at the thread I started a while ago to see what I paid. The McCormick that I priced was almost $4000 more. Of course, that could just be due to the dealer.