Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    1998 Kubota L2900GST

Default chainsaw sharpener

I told my wife that I wanted a sharpener for my chainsaw for father's day. My uncle owned a tool and die sharpening service and always did it for me for free, but he passed away last fall.

I looked at Northern Tools and they have an electric one that hooks up to a battery, a friend at work bought one at Farm King that clamps directly to the bar and you use a hand file. I've never had to do it myself so I don't know which is better. My chainsaw use is quite limited but I loss 3 elms to dutch elm decease this spring and need to take them down.

Any recommendations? Brand name to look for? Thanks in advance.

Tractor
    1998 Kubota B21, 2005 Kubota L39

Default Re: chainsaw sharpener

I am far from an expert but this is what I found. The Northern sharpener that hooks to a battery didnít work well for me at all. It may be that I just never got the hang of it. The manual clamp on guide that you use a round file with worked better. It still was not the best but better. I was about to invest in a pro type model that bench mounts when I talked to a friend in the tree business. Knowing he had one of the pro bench mount units I ask what he thought and he said ďIíll give it to you if you want.Ē These things are not cheap so I ask why and he thought it took to long for the results. He says after years of trying everything the best system is just a round file, two strokes on each tooth on the right side, (if your right handed) and three strokes on each tooth on the left. (says he is stronger on his right hand than left) The biggest secret, according to my friend is, sharpen before the chain is dull. This has worked great for me and my chains last 5 times what they use to.

I suspect that sharpening chains is like grading roads, everyone has a different system and you have to find the one that works for you.

MarkV

Tractor
    Kubota B3000HSDCC