Chainsaw Brand Quality Question

/ Chainsaw Brand Quality Question #1  

TGF

Gold Member
Tractor
3038E
I have been using an Axe for the last 2 months and as much fun as it is, I had a tree with about a 3 foot diameter trunk fall down during the last wind storm and i figure it is time it buy a chainsaw. My friends and neihbors say buy a sthil everything else is junk. Reading the reviews at Amazon seem to further their opinion. I am sure several of you guys own chain saws so help me out with some real world expeirince. Is it worth the money to get a Sthil, or is their a brand of comparable quality for less $$?

/ Chainsaw Brand Quality Question #2  
I think your neighbours are half right - Stihl are indeed very good - certainly they are what I would buy.

However, I think most people would agree Husqvarna are every bit as good, and probably Jonserads and Sachs-Dolmar are not very far behind.

What does your favourite dealer sell? What feels most comfortable - oh, and to avoid a post on the safety forum - think training and safety kit as well - which do not have to be all from same vendor.

J

/ Chainsaw Brand Quality Question #3  
I'm sure that you'll get plenty of replies on this open ended question! I've owned and used chainsaws for most of the last 35 years. I always went with the lower priced saws because a Stihl seemed a higher than needed initial investment. Last Christmas my wife bought me a great present-Stihl MS290 Farm Boss. I can very comfortably say that I was probably more wrong than right all those earlier years. The Stihl is that much better! Good luck and be safe with whatever you get ...

Frank

/ Chainsaw Brand Quality Question #4  
There are saws equal to the quality of a Sthil. Just make sure you are comparing the same use definition of the saw.:D

Quality costs. Other brands with equal quality will be in the same price range.:)

/ Chainsaw Brand Quality Question #5