What are you paying for Stihl chain?

/ What are you paying for Stihl chain? #1  

fabsroman

Silver Member
Just bought two Stihl saws today. A MS261 with an 18" bar and a MS660 with a 25" bar. The dealer was having a special on chains of buy one get one 1/2 off, so I bought 2 extra 18" chains for the MS261. Regular price was $33 and the second one was $16.50 at half off. Felt somewhat expensive, but I am new to Stihl saws and chains.

What do you guys think? Did I get taken for a ride?

/ What are you paying for Stihl chain? #2  
Depends on the chain, but I know a 20" bar and chain will eat up most of a 100 dollar bill so you probably did OK.

660 is a big saw......what are you cutting with that?

/ What are you paying for Stihl chain? #3  
You got two chains for $49.50, so you paid about $25 each. A local dealer near here sells 74 tooth Stihl safety chain (for an 18" bar) for $28 each. That gives you something to compare to.

/ What are you paying for Stihl chain?
Depends on the chain, but I know a 20" bar and chain will eat up most of a 100 dollar bill so you probably did OK.

660 is a big saw......what are you cutting with that?

Firewood, and I hope that I will be cutting it quickly. I just ordered a wood burning furnace and need to cut and split 4+ cords of wood a year.

I bought the MS291 for the majority of the cutting, with the MS660 for the really big stuff. I'll see how it all works out and then go from there. I've used my dad's crap McCulloch and Craftsman saws and have no desire to spend that long trying to cut 4+ cords of firewood.

Looks like I left off the chain model in my original post, so for you and everybody else, here it is:

26RMC3 74 links which is for the 18" bar.

Might go with an RSC chain next to see if there is a difference.

/ What are you paying for Stihl chain? #5  
Firewood, and I hope that I will be cutting it quickly. I just ordered a wood burning furnace and need to cut and split 4+ cords of wood a year.