Any one try a cordless electric pole saw?

/ Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #1  

canoetrpr

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M7040 cab/hyd shuttle - current, Kubota L3400 - traded
I'm not sure I can justify the nice Stihl I saw on their website (about 700 bucks).

I need to clear the occasional 2"-3" limb in spots so as not to damage my cab. The lights on the sunshade on my current tractor have taking a bit of a beating.

I can either rent a pole saw once a year (about $70 per day) or buy one of the Black and Decker cordless ones that people rave about ($150 or so). In online reviews people are saying they are cutting 5 to 6" stuff with it.

What do you guys think?

/ Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #2  
Why don't you buy a manual saw.Mine goes to 14ft.real Sharpe ,works well.I tried the $200.00 Poulan..waste of money,junk from the word go.Going to be limited with an electric.

/ Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #3  
I have no experience and therefore no idea whether the Homelite electric pole saw is really any good or not, but back in May when a little storm tore down a tree in my yard, I bought a cheap Homelite electric chain saw at Home Depot and was very pleasantly surprised at how well it worked. Later a friend had a storm blow down a tree in his yard and we used my little Homelite to cut it up. Black & Decker may be better, but in your situation, I'd have to go to Home Depot and give that Homelite a try. In fact, I'm considering buying one myself for tree pruning.:)

/ Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #4  
I have a Remington battery pole saw. It lasts for about 3 cuts of 3-4 inch diameter, sometimes a little shy of that.
If you do not need quick results it works fine. If you have alot to do, you will be frustrated with it.

/ Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #5  
Last edited:
   / Any one try a cordless electric pole saw? #6