Stihl MS310 - Operation Issues

/ Stihl MS310 - Operation Issues #1  

Beltzington

Platinum Member
Tractor
JD 3720
I have been using an Echo 14" chainsaw for the last 25+ years and it has rarely let me down. Using Oregon S52 chains it has cut allot of wood and is very easy to handle. Recently I have started cleaning up some property and due to having much larger trees to deal with I bought a Stihl MS310 with a 20-inch blade. Last weekend while cutting some brush I dulled my last Echo blade and although the remaining trees were not that big all I had was the Stihl. Compared to my much smaller Echo this saw is an animal, sounds like some dirt bikes I used to race.
Armed with a brand new Still blade I approached my first 12" tree with a big smile on my mug and the saw cut like crap. What the heck, I know the blade is thicker but the Stihl is a much heavier saw and significant more powerful. Undercuts were much more work than they should have been. It seemed if I held my mouth just right and at some magic speed the chain would bite and cut through limbs as I would expect.
Assume I am not operating the saw correctly, typically with the Echo I run it wide open and rock it a bit. What is the trick with a bigger saw? TIA

/ Stihl MS310 - Operation Issues #2  
There is no trick. You have got something wrong with the chain.

Dull? Rakers need lowered? On backwards?

Did you buy this saw NEW form a DEALER? Or was it bought used off of someone else?

Can you take some pics of the bar and chain? And perhaps spend $20 to buy a new chain and try that?

/ Stihl MS310 - Operation Issues #3  
I'd say you have chain issues! I'd hope that a stihl chain came with the saw as oregon's chains don't keep an edge very long on stihl chain saws.

/ Stihl MS310 - Operation Issues